I remember being interested in finding all colorful flowers and plants to decorate my yard. As a school going girl, I would try getting all the plants that I read about in books to plant in our front yard. There are still some flowers that I planted decade ago  and it was same old plants that remind me the joy of gardening which I had stop doing for more than just some years.

This was some 2 months ago and I did some plantation after that, actually collection of different twigs and branches and roots of different flowers and decorative plants and planted them. I planted them hoping a full blossom white and yellow flower in my yard. But because of the soil quality(I think), no plants was able to grow properly, ultimately died, somehow surviving were cruelly uprooted by the builder. There were some common flower plants that I hopelessly plant in the earthen pot and place them in the balcony. The unproductive effort in the garden had made me feel a bit low, I felt ridiculously unlucky and unworthy to not even care a plant. The pot plant had not been much hope with it’s pigmented leaves and dry stems. However, I try to water it whenever I see it, wishing to make it bloom, not hoping though.

 Then, today I notice that the pot plant has developed flower buds, not just one but two pot plants. The pink buds please my eyes instantly. The joy was precious. The plant itself didn’t look healthy, leaves decaying and drying yet the plant did its best to survive the adverse. The joy was fulfilling.  But it is not the joy of seeing a flower, a common flower seen in almost every house in the neighborhood. It isn’t a difficult plant to grow as well but it gives a sense of satisfaction, and a smile. Did I make it bloom? No, it is not the joy of that either. It blooms in my pot, in my house. It blooms to beauty. It light my heart for the moment.

A rope of hope
I love making garlands. I like picking pretty flowers and sew them in one thread. I don’t make garlands often but when I do, it is a pleasure art for me. Somehow it is linked with spiritual aspect for me. Sewing each flower with care and making a chain of it and often offered to god, it just gives me a sense of optimism. The soft petals into a flower, flower in a chain and ultimately tied in a loop, a garland is collective but one. It symbolizes hope, it symbolizes humbleness.

Light of hope:
I am spiritual by religion, Hindu by ritual. I believe in god and I don’t understand the concept of relating (or biasing) God with religion. I can’t quite understand the concept of different gods governing one earth, one human race. Anyway lets not get into one religion, I am a confused mind already. But yes, Alah or jesus, I know all as God.

As a believer in god, I have certain inclination to spiritual practices, much too ritualistic behavior. We Hindu have a lot of methods and procedure for worship. But one thing I find satisfaction with is to light “Diya”. A small yellow light in a small container makes me feel pleased in heart. A simple thing, small thing but gives a joy of enlightenment. It is not high voltage fluorescence, nor a strong flame, but a precious luminescence of itself.  It is ultimate form of my worship offering to God. It gives me sense of satisfaction, sense of completeness, sense of acknowledgment. I find it related to wisdom and hope. A light of wisdom eliminate the darkness of ignorance. I find the lighted “Diya” contemplating with the fact.

These small joys make me  happy. I don’t know if the word “Happy”  itself is fulfilling but it makes me feel as a devotee of spirituality and with my learning I find it much fulfilling to be a learner, a seeker, than an achiever. With taste of highs and lows of life, I have now realized the preciousness of such joys in life that gives us a feeling of contentment. May be bigger achievements bring arrogance alongside, simple joys touches soul. I can’t say it for others but for me; I have been so satisfied with the realization of power of simplicity and serenity.
For me these joys are meanings to moments. Life, is a moment of awakeness after all.

